Back to School Baking

Hi everyone!

So….it’s that time of year again.  I won’t even say the dreaded words.  (Back to school!)

But, with BTS comes some super fun things.  Like new school supplies, new organization techniques, and most importantly, school breakfasts and lunches.  I know that sometimes the mornings can get a little crazy, so last night I did some prep and made a ton of muffins and some snacks for a quick breakfast or after school snack.  The best part – these snacks are super yummy, but also super healthy!

I ventured onto my Pinterest and looked at my Muffins and Breads board.  I had many a muffin, but I was looking for a healthy choice that could be eaten for breakfast with some fruit.  I found that I had pinned some Skinny Oatmeal Brown Sugar muffins, and now seemed like it was the time to try them out! I grabbed some syrup at the store, as that was the only ingredient I was missing (I will link the recipe at the end of this blog post.)

I did have substitutions with the ingredients for allergy/availability reasons.  Instead of using almond milk, I just used regular skim milk, since my sister is allergic to almonds.  Also, I couldn’t find sugar free syrup at the store, so I just substituted lite syrup.  I must say, these recipe was SUPER easy.  All you have to do is throw everything into the bowl and mix.  With a whisk too – you don’t even have to get the mixer out! How exciting.

P1010421P1010422

Even thought the recipe did not use muffin liners, I did.  I think that they make it much easier to get to muffin out of the pan, but they also are super cute!  Your breakfast can be a little more fun with a crazy colored muffin liner 🙂P1010419P1010420

My muffins baked fine, but they don’t exactly look like the ones on the bloggers page.  I’m sure they’re fine though…even though I haven’t taste tested them yet!  I froze them in prep for school next week.  Now, I can just take one out the night before and have a yummy muffin ready for the next morning! So excited to try these. P1010427

Now, because I love to bake, I couldn’t stand to just make one quick recipe.  So, of course, I went for a second one!  This one was more of a stretch, as I was very limited in my ingredients.  I eventually found a Peanut Butter Banana Muffin that seemed great! Except (1) I had no bananas, (2) I had no mini-chocolate chips and (3) I only had 1/8 of a cup of honey.  That sure didn’t stop me though!

I just made the recipe without the bananas! However, I did add an extra 1/4 cup of flour, to compensate for the bananas.  I think the batter may have been too watery without it.  That said, it was an extremely thick batter.  I also just left the chocolate chips out….it was healthier!  As for the honey, I just used 1/8 cup honey and 1/8 cup syrup…we’ll see how they taste after that…

Despite all of the substitutions and mix-ups, the muffins came out looking like the ones on the blog post…THANK GOODNESS! They look super yummy and I am so excited to try them this week.

P1010425 P1010423

Two recipes did not even suffice for me.  I went ahead and made some Flourless Peanut Butter Oatmeal Cookies, for after school snacks!

I wanted to be able to satisfy my cravings without skyrocketing the calorie count.  These cookies seemed like the perfect fit! They were super quick and easy to make, and I think they will be so yummy.  I froze them too, so that they can de-thaw in my lunch all day, and they be ready to eat after school on the way to dance class.  Yay!

P1010428

Please let me know if you try any of these recipes out or want to see more BTS posts!

Skinny Oatmeal Brown Sugar Muffins from Averie Cooks

Skinny Peanut Butter Banana Muffins from Sally’s Baking Addiction

Flourless Peanut Butter Oatmeal Cookies from Sally’s Baking Addiction

Leave a Reply

