Monday Motivation – My Exercise/Meal Plan

Happy Monday Everyone!

Now that it is the end of the summer and all vacations are done, it’s time for me to get back in shape.  I am off of dance for the next three weeks, with the exception of maybe one or two rehearsals.  Those rehearsals, however, are not nearly enough to keep me in shape for the next three weeks before I start full-time dance again.

My friend and I, whenever we go to the beach together, always end up going on 5 mile walks or bike rides, and thought that maybe we should carry that back over for when we are at home, and start a sort of fitness club.  It’s kind of a way to keep ourselves and each other motivated to stay active.  Yesterday, we went on a 4.5 mile hike at our local state park and it was awesome! It was sort of a mix between cross country and incline hiking, as there were some small hills, but it certainly wasn’t like going up a mountain.  We didn’t use a map or anything, just counted on MyFitnessPal to count our steps and track how far we went. It was a really nice way to exercise on a hot day.  We were in the shade, covered by trees, but trust me, we were still sweating.  It was nice to just walk and talk, but burn some calories at the same time.  I came home and stretched out and then did some ab workouts, which helped to round out the exercise.

Now, I know that if I just wake up with the intention of exercising each day with no plan, it will never get done.  So, I decided to plan out my exercise for each day so that I can cross things off.  I have it written down in a little notebook, but I will just type it here so that it is easy to see and read.  I will link all of the exercise routines that I have found online.

Monday:

Tuesday:

Wednesday:

  • I will be visiting NYC for the day, so all of the walking in the heat can constitute as a good workout. 🙂

Thursday:

Friday:

Saturday:

  • Walk on the local trail
  • Ballet Abs
  • My stretch routine

Sunday (break day):

  • My stretch routine

Not only am I planning my workouts, but this summer I have also been planning my meals for the week.  It helps me to stay on track with what I should be eating, and helps avoid overeating.  I typically plan out my breakfast, lunch, and snack for Mon-Fri.  I don’t plan dinners because I never know what my mom is planning or if I might go out at night.  I also leave the weekends because they are a little more fluid and I count those as sort of my break time.

Monday:

  • Breakfast:
    • 1 Cup of Cheerios (100 cal)
    • Dannon Greek Yogurt: Raspberry Chocolate (80 cal)
  • Lunch
    • Chicken Apple Fuji Salad (240 cal)
  • Snack:
    • Apple (80 cal)

Tuesday:

  • Breakfast:
    • 1 Cup of Cheerios (100 cal)
    • Dannon Greek Yogurt: Raspberry Chocolate (80 cal)
  • Lunch:
    • Banana Raspberry Smoothie (200 cal)
    • Brown Cinnamon Pastry Crisp (100 cal)
  • Snack
    • Banana (38 cal)

Wednesday:

  • I will be in NYC for the day, so I have no idea what I will be eating!

Thursday:

On this particular day, I know I am going out at night with friends for a birthday dinner.  So, I want to go lighter for my lunch, under 200 calories.  That way, I know I am free to enjoy my evening and don’t have to worry about counting my calories.

  • Breakfast
    • Banana Raspberry Smoothie (200 cal)
  • Lunch
    • Chicken Avocado Wrap (134 cal)
    • Baby carrots (35 cal)
  • Snack
    • Banana (38 cal)

Friday:

Once again, I am going to a party at night where we are going to have pizza, smores, and cookies, so I want to go lighter during the day so that I can enjoy myself at night.

  • Breakfast:
    • Cheerios (100 cal)
    • Dannon Greek Yogurt: Raspberry Chocolate (80 cal)
  • Lunch:
    • Banana Raspberry Smoothie (200 cal)
Leave a Reply

