Saturday Night Baking

Tonight, I had a free Saturday night!  So, with the house to myself, I decided to do one of the things I love most: baking.  Soon, I hope to display some of my own recipes on this blog, but for now, I think I will just showcase some of the other recipes I have tested.

Earlier this afternoon, I picked two cookie recipes, since cookies are simple and I know my family will eat them 🙂 I chose some oatmeal chocolate chip cookies, since I’ve never made them before, and chocolate covered pretzel cookies, which I have made.  I took a trip to Target and went to grab some ingredients.  I could not find chocolate covered pretzels, so I got some M&M’s instead so to make some “monster” cookies.

The oatmeal chocolate chip cookie recipe was taken from Averie Cooks’ blog (I’ll link the recipes below). I’ve never made anything off her site before, but I think these cookies turned out great.  I was a bit nervous however….I know oatmeal cookies are prone to spreading.  Like I said, I’ve never made any oatmeal cookies before, so I don’t know all the tricks yet.  The recipe said to roll the dough into balls and then chill, but I didn’t have room in the fridge for cookie sheets, so I left it as a mound in the bowl. I don’t think that this will make a difference.  I still chilled the dough, so it shouldn’t be an issue.  Also, I chilled the dough for the minimum amount required, which could be risky.  However, I don’t have the time to let the dough cool for much more time, so I took the risk!

After two looooong hours of dough chilling, it was finally time to pop the cookies in the oven.  I rolled them into even sized balls, probably a little bigger than a tablespoon.  I put 6 on a cookie sheet, and filled two sheets.  I was really nervous about them spreading and then fusing together, which I hate.  I had some leftover dough, so I made three more cookies on a separate sheet and popped those in after the first batch was done.

I am so happy to say that these cookies turned out AMAZING! They look yummy, and they taste even better!! I baked them for 11 minutes, and then 2 minutes after I turned the pan around to ensure even baking.  This was the perfect amount of time, as the cookies are soft but not undercooked.  I am really happy with how they turned out, and I know my family will love them.

very pretty cookies :)
very pretty cookies 🙂

The M&M cookie recipe was super easy! Sally (Sally’s Baking Addiction) used a basic cookie recipe where you can add any mix-ins, which is why I switched to M&M’s on the fly.  I’ve made these cookies before, and they were pretty good! The pretzel taste was lost a bit in the cookie, but I think the M&M’s will pop perfectly fine.  I chilled this dough for the minimum of 30 minutes, which I think was a mistake on my part.  I should have definitely chilled them for at least an hour.  A lot of the cookies spread, and mushed into each other.  They were very thin, and the M&M’s made them too heavy, and some didn’t even really cook well.  I had to throw some away.  However, I had to do two batches, so the dough that was chilled a bit longer turned out great.  I managed to get about a dozen decent cookies from the batch.  They taste good, despite their unattractive appearance.  I think it was a good learning experience, and next time, I will be patient and let the dough chill for longer.

the baking process
the baking process
noooooo
noooooo
the better lot
the better lot

Head on over to these two lovely ladies’ blogs and check out some of their amazing recipes, and let me know if you try out either of these cookie recipes.  I am eager to see how yours turn out!

Happy baking!

Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies from Averie Cooks

Chocolate Covered Pretzel Cookies from Sally’s Baking Addiction

Leave a Reply

